Four provinces warned of flash flood in Thailand

Flash flood warnings were issued on Thursday for two eastern provinces, Chanthaburi and Trat, along with two southern provinces, Ranong and Phang-nga, the Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation (DDPM) said.

Districts in Chanthaburi that were warned of possible inundation include Mueang, Khlung, Makham, and Khao Khitchakut. For Trat, they are Mueang, Khao Saming, and Bo Rai districts. 

Mueang, Kapur, La-un, and Suksamran districts in Ranong and Mueang, Kapong, and Takuapa in Phang-nga are all on alert.

As of Thursday, 12 provinces were still experiencing flooding, according to the DDPM.

Those are Chanthaburi, Trat, Khon Kaen, Maha Sarakham, Nakhon Ratchasima, Nakhon Sawan, Lop Buri, Suphan Buri, Sing Buri, Ang Thong, Ayutthaya, and Pathum Thani. 

Tropical Storm Dianmu has caused floods in 33 provinces across Thailand, damaging 332,738 households, while the Lionrock tropical storm has brought 6,251 households in eight provinces under floods. 

The DDPM reported 14 fatalities due to the floods so far.


Government to lock down parts of southern provinces

The government is looking to lock down some areas in the southernmost provinces as the Covid-19 outbreak situation in...

Latest article