Government asks for cooperation from arrivals from at-risk countries

The government is asking 241 arrivals from eight “high-risk” African countries to report back to authorities and get tested at a nearby public hospital to prevent the possible spread of Omicron, the remaining 435 arrivals who arrived from “low-risk” African countries are not being asked to do anything, the National News Bureau reported on Thursday.

“The Ministry of Public Health confirmed that the 783 number includes people who arrived from low-risk countries as well and there is no need to call them in,” the state mouthpiece said.

“The group of arrivals that are being asked to report in are the 252 people who arrived from eight high-risk countries as announced by the Centre for Covid-19 Situation Administration (CCSA),.”

They said the government are requiring arrivals from eight African countries including Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe to undergo 14 days of quarantine starting in December.

Since the 252 arrivals came into the country before the regulation was changed, they were only in quarantine for seven to ten days so they are being asked to get tested again on the 14-day mark to make sure that they are not infected.


Vaccines are working but the job is only half-done ahead of Thailand reopening

The Thai government announced on Thursday that they would reimplement quarantine free travel in light of lower-than-predicted Covid-19 numbers...

Latest article