Prayut’s chances of reviving fortunes set to get a boost with launch of 2 political parties this week

Listen to this story

This week marks a milestone for the political changes in Thailand, as 2 political parties are set to be launched that are likely to be there to help 2014 coup leader Prayut Chan-ocha return to power.

The 1st party launched today was Ruam Phaen Din, which is the reincarnation of Palang Chart Thai Party, a party that has 1 Member in the parliament (MP) after it managed to secure 71,000 votes during the 2019 general elections.

General Wit Devahastin na Ayudhya, a former leader of the Settakij Thai Party and a close aide of Deputy Prime Minister Prawit Wongsuwon, is now set to be the leader of Ruam Phaen Din party.

The 2nd party and likely more powerful party is set to be announced on August 3rd which will see many of the People’s Democratic Reform Council (PDRC), the protest group that were on the streets of Bangkok from 2013 until the coup of 2014.

The new party – Palang Chart Thai Party, is the reincarnation of the recently formed Ruam Thai Sang Chart party, that gained popularity after Seksakol Atthawong, joined the party earlier this year.

Ruam Thai Sang Chart party, is set to welcome some high profile moves from the likes of Phalang Pracharath party, Democrat party and other smaller parties including talks of the Action Coalition for Thailand party that is backed Suthep Thaugsuban, the secretary-general of the now defunct PDRC.

Suthep’s stepson – Ekkanat Promphan, who was also instrumental in the street protests, is set to join Ruam Thai Sang Chart party thus showing clearly that this party is set to be backed by the leader of the defunct PDRC.

Some of the former MPs include Pirapan Salirathavibhaga and Witthaya Kaewparadai are set to join this party along with Ekkanat.

Ruam Thai Sang Chart party, which was always seen as Prayut’s back up party in case the PPRP does not nominate him as a candidate for the prime minister position, is being renovated by former MPs of the Democrat Party who are now in support of the previous junta leader.

Some of the former MPs include Pirapan Salirathavibhaga, Witthaya Kaewparadai and Ekkanat Phromphan. This party is also likely to see some sitting MPs of the Democrat party move when the time permits.

Currently any sitting constituency MP cannot move parties unless they resign from their position and a re-election is held but come November 23, 2022 any MP can move to any party without resigning and without having to pay a fine to Election Commission or having to hold by-elections.


Ivermectin not effective in treating Covid-19, joint Mahidol-Oxford study shows

Ivermectin is not shown to be effective against Covid-19 in clinical trials according to the findings of a joint...

Latest article